PDP picks Adagunodo as Arapaja’s replacement


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has picked a former chairman of the party in Osun State, Soji Adagunodo, as its new Southwest zonal chairman.

His nomination was announced in a communique by Southwest Zonal Executive after its meeting at its zonal secretariat, Ibadan, the Oyo State capital on Wednesday.

The zonal Publicity Secretary Chief Atofarati indicated that Adagunodo’s nomination was unanimously adopted.

The communique reads: “The meeting deliberated extensively on issues that bother on development and cohesiveness of the party in the region. These included the vacant position of the National Vice Chairman (NVC) and forthcoming elections in Ekiti and Osun states, respectively.

“Upon the vacuum created by the election of Amb. Taofeek Arapaja as Deputy National Chairman (DNC) it has become expedient for the Southwest Zone to make a replacement for the vacant position of the Vice National Chairman (VNC).

“Pursuant to Section 47(6) of PDP constitution (As Amended in 2017), and after a critical deliberation by the Twenty-two (22) members of the Zonal Executive, the nomination of Hon. Olasoji Clement Adagunodo from Osun State was, however, adopted unanimously.”

Arapaja, a former Oyo Deputy Governor, was elected as the National Vice Chairman (Southwest) in a keenly contested election in April in Osogbo, the Osun State capital.

He contested and won as the Deputy National President (South) at the just concluded national convention of the party.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *