Uganda Judiciary Gets 47 New Magistrates

News World

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has recruited 47 Grade One magistrates that are expected to expedite the resolution of court disputes.

The appointments, the largest recruitment in one go, were an outcome of a JSC meeting on October 28 at the commission’s headquarters in Kampala.

The recruits include 17 males and 30 females.

According to a press statement released by the commission on Friday, the new magistrates have undergone a series of competence tests.

“The recruitment is in fulfilment of the expanded Judiciary structure whose goal is to have magistrate Grade One deployed in every county,” read in part the press statement.

It added: “This will improve access to justice for people in the country and reduce litigation.”

JSC further revealed that they will soon recruit three justices of the Supreme Court, 14 judges of the High Court, four deputy registrars and four assistant registrars.
They also revealed that 33 positions for chief magistrates, 10 for senior principal magistrates, 18 for principal magistrate and 26 for senior magistrates will soon be advertised.

The core mandate of the JSC is to recruit judicial officers and also discipline errant ones.

Last week, Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo revealed that the Judiciary will recruit more 150 magistrates in the next financial year to adjudicate cases of corruption across the country.

Name of magistrate

  1. Caroline Wemesa
  2. Conrad Obole Oroya
  3. Joshua Twongyeire
  4. Pascal Olupo
  5. Esther Joyce Ariokot
  6. Rachael Tabaruka
  7. Annet Namankati
  8. Sharon Nassuna
  9. Bridget Acidri
  10. Abubaker Matanda
  11. Winfred Agelun
  12. Jackie Nangobi
  13. Specioza Avako
  14. Mary Goret Nalubowa
  15. Jonard Tusasirwe
  16. Bridget Nasasiira
  17. Caroline Clinah Bamukunda
  18. Angela Ayola
  19. Edmund Okiror Okwi
  20. William Muwonge
  21. Rehmur Namwaje
  22. Mary Gorreti Nakazzi
  23. Esther Murungi
  24. Moreen Nyakato
  25. Patrick Nyeko
  26. Patrick Nyero
  27. Rebecca Akello
  28. Jonathan Wamimbi
  29. Joy Kebirungi Natukunda
  30. Agnes Sandra Namudiba
  31. Fiona Nakibuuka
  32. Philip Mayanja Mukasa
  33. Pamela Nanyanzi
  34. Eva Oteu Amongine
  35. Patrick Akoko
  36. Millicent Kemigisha
  37. Victoria Naluyima
  38. Victoria Namayanja
  39. Yafesi Ochieng
  40. Martin Wakayemba
  41. Caroline Kyoshabire
  42. Epiphany Winny Afoyorworth
  43. Babu Waiswa
  44. Francis Opio
  45. Ivan Busulwa
  46. Damali Agumaasiimwe
  47. Lilian Mazimwe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *